Andrew Snowdon

If it’s Tuesday, it must be… Ottawa?

In Uncategorized on Tuesday 9 March 2010 at 6:13

It’s been too long since I woke up naturally at a decent hour.

So maybe it’s a bit perverse, but I rather like being awake before everyone else, to brew the coffee, make the oatmeal, and get caught up on everything that’s happening in the world. Since I’m a little slower than the average human being, it makes sense to get a head start.

It looks like today is another one of those days: there’s too much to do in Ottawa this evening. That’s the way it should be, really.

Tonight is the opening night of Mourning Becomes Electra—The Haunted, for instance. For $15 ($10 if you’re a student or a senior) you can see the lovely Ms. Bryony Etherington covered, inside and out, in baby powder. Oh, I’m sure the rest of the cast are lovely too; I just don’t know them as well. Apparently this play is based on the myth of Orestes. Any Facebook invite that sends me scrambling for my references (in this case A Smaller Classical Dictionary, 1927, and The Myths of Greece and Rome, H. A. Guerber, 1907) before 6am gets at least a “Maybe Attending.”

I do believe this evening I’ve been invited to a social media event at the University of Ottawa. I will leave it as an exercise to the reader to find out where and when: if you can’t, you shouldn’t be there. I encourage you to go to the play instead, if you have a hankering to hang out on campus. Am I social media enough? You bet your sweet bippy I am.

It being Tuesday, the day will end, and another begin, with Bew Cocky Salsa. If you’re not listening, I really can’t help you. Jess and Ed (I can say their names because they say them on the show; take that, privacy police) are, well, the last of the old-school AM broadcast DJs, brought to you by the magic of college radio. If I lost the capacity to select my own music, I would be happy for at least an hour a week. Plus, they both have incredibly sexy voices.

Speaking of voices you should be listening to, Voices of Venus is on this evening at Umi Café. I wonder who’ll show up for Open Mic? Or maybe I have my suspicions.

This isn’t an event per se, but in my inbox this morning was this month’s Zunior Sampler. I wouldn’t know about Zunior, probably, if it wasn’t for Danny Michel having given away all of his albums by way of the service on his 40th birthday this year. I’m going to go ahead and call it an excellent source for Canadian independent music (bearing in mind that I’m no expert: My Canada May Include Texas, or so my hilarious attempt to claim Okkervil River as a Canadian band (over Twitter, during the Olympic opening Ceremonies) would make it seem). I was giddy with delight to see J’envoie’s track Caserne Centrale is on the sampler; here is my subtle pimping of J’envoie’s La vitesse des chats sauvages, and here is where you get the album. It’s good thinking music.

Maybe I’ll put it on while I’m reading up on Orestes.

Whatever you’re doing in Ottawa tonight (uh, if you’re in Ottawa), have fun—but not too much fun.

Leave a Reply

