Andrew Snowdon

nothing hurts

In Uncategorized on Wednesday 11 November 2009 at 18:42

[Why am I good at emo poetry? I’d like to turn out a technical manual someday instead. Oh, well.]

if you cannot love me
then hate me
or something
just please don’t feel nothing at all
i can’t bear the thought
you’d forget what we had
and the shadow i cast on your wall

though it may not be permanent
right
or desirable
i thought we mattered to us
for a moment
don’t say that we shouldn’t have;
i know that better than you
all the times i gave up
the times i looked at you
with disdain
with disapproval
with disappointment in my eyes

so if you’ve found someone that can love you
and not just pretend
you’re one better than me
i wish what we had wasn’t empty
how i tried to fill it
ignore what it didn’t mean
lie through my teeth
and imagine the prospect i couldn’t bear would
become somehow appealing to me

i would hate myself, wouldn’t i?

so if you cannot love me
then hate me
or something
but please don’t feel nothing
that hurts
worse than anything

  1. nothing wrong with emo poetry! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

